New Year, New Challenge

This year, for the very first time in my adult life, my New Year’s Resolution had absolutely nothing to do with weight loss. That’s right. 2013 was the year I finally reached my goal weight.

Those who know me well know that I was always the girl on the next crash diet. That said, making a serious lifestyle change (May 22, 2012 was the day I committed) and getting the weight off once and for all was a huge, huge deal.

Joining Weight Watchers and shedding 40 lbs was the absolute best thing I’ve ever done for myself. I still have a hard time believing it happened, but it happened and that is something worth celebrating.

So, now that I’m minus 40 lbs, where do I go from here? The journey isn’t over. I will never be cured. Slipping back into old habits is a constant possibility and fear, but I refuse to let it happen.

Reaching goal weight was just the tip of the iceberg for me. I am now ready for “chapter two” and am so excited to see what more I can achieve. 

While I will never, ever be “off” Weight Watchers (I believe in this program SO much. If you want to talk WW, email me!) I am switching things up. I’m moving from their Points Plus system to Simply Filling. What this basically means is I can eat an unlimited quantity of super-healthy foods and have a bank of “cheat points” that I can use throughout the week if I choose to. I will also continue to get weighed-in once a week for the rest of my life. It’s just what I have to do to stay accountable and at my goal weight, and that’s okay with me!

 My mind is moving away from “get skinny!” to “get strong!” And I am super excited to announce right here on my little old, semi-abandoned blog that today is day one of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit program (shoutout to my super fit super fab girlfriend Jad for introducing me to this program! xo).

To help keep myself accountable (and hopefully inspire some others along the way), I will be blogging about the process and my progress, and I promise to give you the good, the bad and the ugly. 

While I’ve yet to step foot in the gym today, I have gotten through a whole half-day of the nutrition portion of the plan. And if Weight Watchers has taught me anything, it’s that small steps are more important than long leaps and that every single good thing you do for your body counts and should be celebrated.

So with that said: YES. I am super proud of myself for eating FIVE egg whites, veggies and Ezekiel bread for breakfast within an hour of waking up. I typically don’t eat breakfast until 10:30 or 11:00. It was hard. It will get easier.

YES. I am super proud of myself for peeling myself away from the TV last night to food prep for the week.

 I am ready to put my complete trust in this plan and discover what is possible. After all, my big birthday trip to Las Vegas to see Britney Spears with my best friend is a mere four months away, and this ass ain’t gonna whip itself into super poolside shape!

I’ll sign off by allowing you to feast your eyes on my 40 lb before and after picture. Kind of humiliating, but also super cool… I cannot wait to post my before and after LiveFit picture on April 14 ;) 

 Image

One comment

Leave a Reply

